States and Union Territories

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. The President is the constitutional head of the Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of the Executive. The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. Each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history, and culture, dress, festivals, language, etc. This section introduces you to the various States/UTs in the Country and urges you to explore their magnificent uniqueness.

States and Capitals

Union Territories

* S (Summer) and * W (Winter)

Source: India Book 2020 – A Reference Annual, Ministry of Environment, NITI Aayog, Census of India, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Press Information Bureau, Ministry of External Affairs, Union Budget, Reserve Bank of India.